You are my sunshine….

Well hello folks, how are you doing? Ok, I hope. So, this is the second bank holiday since my last blog and Easter has been and gone, yet it’s not quite a month. I have to admit it does seem like a lot longer, but I think that has to do with my pawly dog and all that is going on with him, not to mention healing from my dental op.

Anyway, enough doom and gloom – whatever is going on Crafting is always my sanctuary and today I wanted to share a card I recently made.

20170501_202832

It’s for a friend who is feeling very down at the moment and her Mum asked if I would make a card to remind how special she is. She loves big, bold, bright colours and nature, so when I saw the base card colour I knew it was perfect for her, especially with ‘You are my sunshine’. I like to think if I had ever had children they would make me feel on cloud nine.

So, to make it I used a Hunkydory kit I have had for some time. Now I don’t know how you feel, but, I have heard crafters saying that using kits is not crafting and I have to tell you I disagree. Crafting is people having a go and having fun, no matter whether they want to use kits alone, enhance kits as I have here, or not use kits at all. I do plenty of crafting without kits and plenty with them, and the beautiful background card design I have here, with adorable scorable card is hard to find outside of any kit. I think it is a great shame when crafters set rules and put people in boxes, as far as I am concerned anything goes, use what you will, do what you want and have fun, yes I get that for many people it’s a way of making a living, but live and let live folks and remember why you first started crafting.

Phew, where did that come from!!!! Enough said I think and moving on. After choosing the background card and a couple of sentiments I set about using some gorgeous ombre card I recently got from Hunkydory, as the deep orange went so well with the yellow of the background. I could have just gone yellow and orange, but there is a tiny hint of green in the images, so I added in some strategically placed green to break up the wow brightness and I think it works well.

I wanted it to be a happy, uplifting card so what better sentiment than ‘you make my heart sing’ to sit alongside the ‘Sunshine’!

You may have noticed by now that I like lots of depth to my cards, 3D if you like, so I used a little piece of folded card to get the lift under my toppers on the flat section of the card. Once I had the three focal points stuck down where I wanted them, all that was left was to embellish, pad out and decorate the card to suit the theme I was going for. In this case I went for spring blooms and butterflies, from Tattered Lace, finished with pearl drops, to really enhance the feel good factor. So, what do you think?  I hope you like it.

Well, that’s it from me folks. Thank you, as always, for your support and for dropping by, if you haven’t already done so,  please do subscribe. I would also really appreciate it if you could please leave a comment either using the tab above, emailing me at kelly@glitzandgrammar.co.uk or via any one of the social media links below. And until next time – Happy Crafting 😊 xx

FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram

 

 

2 thoughts on “You are my sunshine….

Leave a Reply

