In the pink…..

Hi Folks and thanks for joining me. It’s been a little while since my past blog and so much has happened, most of which I think I will gloss over. Suffice to say 2017 can surely only get better. Not everything is bad though, I have you guys for company and support and month after month, week after week, day after day even, new and beautiful craft items are being brought to us from various companies out there. One thing I am in love with is the beautiful Ombre card that I recently purchased from Hunkydory. The colours are amazing and I guess I almost feel lazy as the impact from the card on its own and the gradual colour change has a wow factor all of its own before you even start to embellish it. This is great and lends itself to minimal effort if you need/want to do a quickie card, yet at the same time you can go all out if you want to and you know me folks, 9 times out of 10 I want to…lol 😉

Ok, so what am I waffling about? Ombre is one of the latest crazes and is used in crafting, hair dressing, all kinds of areas these days and basically is a gradual change from one colour into another. I have done it myself before now using inks, but how exciting to have it in good quality card stock and the 2 cards I made below, just the basic card blanks, were cut from one A4 sheet, so you see a little can also go a long way. Important for a crafter – right?!

As well as the card I recently treated myself to a number of new dies and wanted to try them out and the Ombre card arriving gave me the perfect opportunity. The only dilemma I had was which colour to choose first as they really are gorgeous. That said this colour to me just shouted out spring into summer, nice relaxing hazy days of sunshine, spot on for what I had in mind.

I won’t lie to you – I had originally thought a complete A4 sheet for each card, however once I had scored it I wasn’t so keen on the shape and had an idea and thankfully it worked, well I think it did, what do you think?

20170208_202751

The first card was the stylish young lady, by Tattered Lace, and the sentiment die by Couture Creations Intricutz. I thought they went well together and I finished the card off with the edging and a few butterflies, plus a rose die I have had quite a while, but never used, also Tattered Lace. As always, I embellished the flowers and butterflies with liquid pearls. I think it makes such a difference and really lifts the card. I hope you do too.

On a roll now I moved on to the next card and as I have a few of these different sentiment dies I decided to make a Card Collection from them, so 2 down and watch this space. I had this lovely image in my head of a care free summers day in the park and I knew exactly which dies I wanted to use. I also thought I would incorporate ‘Family’ into it with the trees and the sentiment linking well in my mind, Family Tree and ‘enjoy the little things’ as we get so caught up and swept along these days we take each other and things for granted and, as I learnt last week, we don’t have forever so make the most of today and each other. No, that’s not me preaching, that’s just me explaining my inspiration for the card.

20170208_202847

Looking at this I can literally feel the breeze as I am swinging through the air and the bird song in the background as I relax and read my book with the warm sun on me. Those were the days eh?! Just as with the previous card I finished off this one with little bird and flower details embellished with liquid pearls. I hope you like it.

Well, that’s it from me folks. Both these cards are available to buy and can be purchased in kit form too. Thank you, as always, for your support and for dropping by. I would really appreciate it if you could please leave a comment and if you have any questions or queries, please do get in touch with me via the contact sheet on here or clicking on the following links:

FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting 😊 xx

6 thoughts on “In the pink…..

Leave a Reply

