New beginnings

20170113_195529

Hi Folks, well it’s already 14th January 2017 and only my first blog of the year, so a slightly belated Happy New Year. I hope you have a happy and healthy year ahead.

So, what has happened since my last post? Well Christmas, New Year, my Dad turned 70 (so hard to believe and he looks great) and I am now 43 – only just mind!!!! Lol Christmas and New Year are such a busy and expensive time in our family – plenty more of us, and my friends, have birthdays in that time period. That also means we are all Capricorns which gets pretty interesting, especially as we are all perfectionists and know best……

Ok, so I wanted to share a couple of Wedding/Anniversary cards with you today. I was asked for a Golden Wedding Anniversary card and then I must still be feeling all romantic, as well as having scraps to use, as I then made a Wedding Card and another which I suppose could be for a number of occasions linked to love and we do have Valentines coming next. Soon be Christmas again at this rate………😜 Sorry, I shall wash my mouth out!!!

20170113_195838

This is an 8×8 inch card and I needed to do something special and at the same time keep the card limited to how much space it would take up for posting, so as you can see from the photos above, I went for making the most of the space in and out. I chose to do understated elegance on the front and then used all the space within before finally composing a verse to go on the back and making a matching envelope.

20170114_204601

I do like to try different shapes and styles and, despite having a love of screens and having several at home, I have never made a screen one. So I did…! I had an A3 piece of patterned card which I chopped down to be an 8×8 inch size and scored at 4, 8 and 12 inches across the card, giving me my 4 screen sections. Then to make the feet I took a square die I had and cut out half a square from each section. I think I would like the feet more ornate but for a first attempt I am happy.

I then went ahead and, using all the off cuts from the first card made, cut out the pieces for this card, attached them with glue and foam squares, before finishing off with gold liquid pearls. Believe it or not though I still had some bits left over, not to mention the section of card I had cut off the top of the A3 sheet when cutting it down to 8 inches high, so I made a further card using it.

20170114_204426

Given that this was the top cut off the A3 card this card measures just 3.69 inches high, but is still 16 inches wide, as the previous one. It works well though putting the detailing on the top. Even with the edging this card will fit in a standard envelope, unlike the previous one for which I had to make one, not that I am complaining. It’s just as well this was smaller though as I was getting to the ends of my off cuts.

It didn’t take me long to decide which dies I was going to use on this card – I was determined to use my new die, with the letter box and love birds and as I was sticking to the romance theme I thought my little boy and girl die set perfect. I chose to leave this one open for occasion, so it could be wedding, anniversary, valentines or just because, which then gave me the opportunity to use, my favourite sentiment die of the moment ‘Faith, Hope, Love’. I like the words, the flow, everything about it.

As I was coming to the end of the cut offs I padded out the card with plain ivory, which matched perfectly, and at the same time gave me just the right contrast on the card. The new die I used turned out to be absolutely perfect for this card, not to mention just as gorgeous as I envisaged it. The design meant I could attach it to just one of the main hearts, yet have it overlapping the other, so it gives the impression of being attached, but can easily be folded flat for putting away or placing in an envelope.  Yeahhhhhhh!! And that’s it really, a little matting and layering with the hearts, some glue, some adhesive foam pads and some liquid pearls and that’s it done. I hope you like them.

That’s it from me folks. Thank you, as always, for your support and for dropping by. I would really appreciate it if you could please leave a comment and if you have any questions or queries, please do get in touch with me via the contact sheet on here or clicking on the following links:

FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting 😊 xx

6 thoughts on “New beginnings

Leave a Reply

