Winter wishes

Hi Folks, how are you? Keeping well I hope and enjoying this bizarre weather. It’s gone from freezing to balmy, I wonder what it will be next? Not sure we will get to make any of these guys, in the card I wanted to share with you, but you never know…..

20161207_203142

So, it’s been a few weeks since my last blog and in that time I have fallen several times, the worst dislocating a couple of joints, preventing me from having a stall at a Craft Fayre for a cause close to my heart, cut myself with scissors, stabbed myself with my pokey tool, both accidental…!!!!, dropped numerous things, too many to mention, and sent a couple of cups of tea flying, one on my craft desk and the other, thankfully luke warm, just missed Milly, if she had been lying in the opposite corner of her bed than she was, she would have been soaked. Well now, those are the things I have done, now for the ‘have nots’!! I have not even started my Christmas cards or shopping yet and yes, I am starting to panic……arghhhhh!! lol

20161207_203151

Anyway, enough of that. Another week should see me clear and then I can get sorted. I’m itching to get the Christmas decorations and tree up. Oh one more thing, absolutely worth mentioning, I had a visit from a wonderful Facebook friend, so kind of her to drive some 3hrs distance to see me, along with Hubby and Pooch. I really have met some amazing friends through Facebook and crafting and they never fail to surprise me.

Ok, ok, this time I won’t be sidetracked – I just wanted to share a recent make with you. I’ve been teasing you with close up shots and the full card is in the pic below. It’s a 6×6 inch card, cut and styled to make the most of the whole surface area, with an insert to the back. It seems to be a very popular style I do and I personally think it is my favourite, there is so much scope and to illustrate this I shall pop some pictures of this same style I have used with other makes at the end of this blog.

20161207_203210

As with all the cards I make, I had great fun. I was asked for a specific ‘Special Friend’ wording for the front and a blue, white, silver colour scheme, the rest however was up to me. I hope you like it. It’s a mix of old festive dies and the latest designs. I also got to use my favourite festive die, the holly by Cheery Lynn. A very basic plain die you may think, for me though it’s so stylish and really is the difference between a finished and unfinished project. My only regret is they didn’t do 2 opposing corners, so you would get an exact mirror image, whereas with just the one the end flourish is not a mirror image. You can get round this by chopping the flourish bit off and just having the 3 leaves, but the flourish is what makes it stand out? I hope that makes sense. It does in my head….lol

To make this I used the following dies:

  • Cheery Lynn: Holly;
  • Tattered Lace: Bauble, Snowman, Bow; Pin dot nesting squares;
  • Creative Expressions: Winter Wishes;
  • Creative Dies: Nesting Stars;
  • Amy Designs: Christmas Greetings Square cut out;
  • Memory Box: Bells.

These were cut in a variety of Centura (Hint of Silver) pearlescent card, silver mirri card and a paper from the Mirabelle Collection, as well as the blue festive paper from my craft stash. 2 faux pearl embellishments were added to the holly die cuts and liquid pearls were used on the bells. Everything, except the backing papers, was stuck down using foam pads, to give extra depth to the card, yet ensuring it is still very simple to fold and post, fitting into a standard 6×6 inch envelope.

20161124_221007

That, as they say, whoever they may be, is that and I just wanted to draw your attention to the card pictured above. This is exactly the same fold, however instead of standing it up on its edge, it is placed on its back and becomes an easel card of sorts, another popular design. The slideshow below shows some other cards made with the same type of fold. I hope you like them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As always, thanks for dropping by. I would really appreciate it if you could please leave a comment and if you have any questions or queries, please do get in touch with me via the contact sheet on here or clicking on the following links:

FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting!!!!

4 thoughts on “Winter wishes

  1. Dianne Waring says:

    Beautiful cards as ever Kelly. You are such a talented lady and your cards are so different to any others on the market. Keep up the good work and good luck with your Christmas shopping and getting your cards out before the big day. Love Dianne. XXX

    Like

Leave a Reply

