Box of delights….

Good evening folks, hope you are having a good week, personally I can’t believe the weekend is coming around again already. Not that it matters to me, you might be thinking, and you’d be right with me being retired now, but how frustrating as the weeks went soooo slowly when I was working and now they just fly by….:/

Anyway, as usual I am waffling, so I will come straight to the topic in hand today, this box I made for my Mum’s birthday. It’s a good size, approximately 12 x 6 inches and quite deep too, so you could use it for a number of things including jewellery, crafting goodies, maybe even make up. I must admit I did toy with the idea of putting a mirror on the inside of the lid, but had nothing suitable and time ran out, plus to be honest I think I prefer the paper inside.

20161020_003801

Having already posted this box on Facebook I have had some amazing comments, thank you to everyone – it really means alot, and some people have asked how I did it and is it easy. In my opinion yes it is, because if I can do it, anyone can and I really mean that. To be honest it’s more time consuming and a little repetitive cutting the papers to line the inside compartments than taxing or tricky.

If you are anything like me the hardest part is choosing the paper to use because (a) you are a crafter and have so many papers to choose from, go on admit it, I’m not the only one with a paper additiction, (b) you are indecisive and (c) you are a perfectionist – this part I can’t help, it’s the Capricorn in me…..lol.

So, what did I do? Well I certainly didn’t make the box, but what a bargain, £5 in a sale from The Works (other stores are available), and even more jammy, the compartments were already built in. It was that very blonde colour inexpensive boxes and other craft items are ready for us to weave our magic, or scrape by on a wing and a prayer, and that would be me folks…..;)

If you have been following my blog you will recall the last one where I did the box, in a book shape, with a car in the front and that took quite a bit of elbow grease and a few coats to get it coloured completely, especially all the tricky nooks and crannies. Not the case with this beauty though. In both cases the application of ink really brought out the grain in the wood, but to achieve it this time was so quick and easy, the shape of the box helping a great deal. Believe it or not all I did to get that colour and the wood grain to show through was just gently brush over a basic brown inkpad. I discovered this by accident as I wasn’t sure how the colour would look on the wood, but straight away that simple application gave me exactly what I wanted, so I just went over the whole box, excluding the bottom and the compartments I was going to paper. The ink pad I used was Ranger Archival Dye Ink Pad – Tree Branch Brown.

dsc_0561-1

Once I had finished inking I then turned to the paper cutting, and this is the main time consuming section, but it certainly wasn’t tedious or to long. The paper I chose to use is Dovecraft Floral Muse Collection. To begin with I was disappointed as I thought I only had it in 8 x 8 inch and didn’t want a join on the top of the box, but then looking through my 12 x 12 inch collection I had a pleasant surprise – yippeee. Yes, yes I am easily pleased. I am also a thrifty crafter buying everything in sales and I remembered this little bundle being one such bargain – it just keeps getting better!

OK then, so I took my bargain paper and cut 2 pieces to fit the recess in the box lid, one on the outside and one for a matching recess on the inside, and stuck this down. Then to do the compartments it was 4 pieces per compartment and 6 compartments, so 24 pieces, and I cut a template which I used as a guide, just having to adjust it here and there when a compartment was slightly larger or smaller. Yes, it took a little while, but no great length and I felt it would look better than staining the wood, so it was worth it.

Next it was time to concentrate on the outside of the box. I didn’t want to do to much, but I remembered I had some light green card that I thought would go perfectly. Now, if I am going to be really honest with you, the design you see is not my original one- originally I did what the picture below shows, but unhappy with it I then went with the second design. So I cut out the 4 corner die cuts and the central die cut using Tattered Lace Dies, which set this off really nicely. It’s also minimal effort for maximum effect as the dies are so detailed and pretty. I then added the cameo. I do like a cameo and it matched the paper perfectly, although I think a lovely big flower would be just as effective here.  In fact there are all sorts of toppers that would work well.

20161019_213020

The catch was already on the box, but I wanted a little more detail, with it being so small and I remembered some locks and key embellishments I had, so I decided on one of the locks. It’s obvious it is only for decor and there is no key, however to make it a little more realistic, instead of the box showing through the lock, I placed a piece of black card behind the keyhole to give the impression of a proper working keyhole. Then finally I added the liquid pearl detail to the top of the box, I am a real liquid pearl fan and always use them, before popping felt on the underneath of the box to prevent damage. And there you have it. One finished box. I hope you like it and now you know how simple it is I hope you have a go and I would love to see what you make. Remember with crafting there is no right or wrong, try things and have fun, that’s how it should be and so many of the techniques we use today were discovered by crafters experimenting. So don’t be afraid.

You’ll be pleased to know that’s it for now from me. Thank you, as always, for dropping by. I would really appreciate it if you could leave a comment so I know whether these are helpful, interesting or not. And if you have any questions or queries, please do get in touch with me via the contact sheet on here or clicking on the following FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting!!!!

6 thoughts on “Box of delights….

  1. Heather Toms says:

    Hi Kelly
    I love what you’ve done to the box! Fabulous idea with the black card behind the keyhole. The paper and dies are so pretty……………. now where did I put that box lol?
    Hugs x
    Heather

    Like

Leave a Reply

