Canvas creations

Hi Folks, welcome back. I hope you are keeping well. So, what have you been up to? We’ve had some decent weather and I hope you are all enjoying your bank holiday. It has been quite a few weeks since my last blog  and that’s because I  have slowed down craft and Social Media wise, as the Dr ordered, but I just can’t give it up completely, I’d go stir crazy, so I will still be here, although a little less often, so thank you all for your support 🙂

Anyway, enough of that. Today I want to share with you a very quick idea simply using a blank canvas, a 12 x 12 inch canvas and some adhesive. Yes, that’s it really, made in minutes.

Earring canvas 2

Another great passion of mine is jewellery, I used to make it and I certainly love to wear it, well who doesn’t, so when I was considering a piece of canvas wall art of my bedroom, I thought why not use my earrings, so I can reach them easily, see them all and have a piece of wall art I like.Earring canvasOnce I decided that was what I wanted to make it was just a question of choosing the paper design, sticking it to the canvas and then add my earrings using a pokey tool to make the holes. Yes, that quick and simple. That said, there are a few considerations. I chose to stick the paper using a strong double sided tape and I did this for several reasons:

  1. I don’t want to use glue and get the earrings contaminated with any glue, especially as I have allergies to many glues, so I used the tape around the edges of the paper, avoiding the areas where the earrings are stuck through;
  2. I used the double sided tape around the outside only so I can also change the design easily when I am ready for a change too, if I felt really lazy I could just paper over it!!

Earring canvas 3

I love this embossed butterfly paper and I think it works well, although there may be some of you who feel I could have done more, especially given some of my busy designs. I did consider adding butterflies etc etc, but then again I am also a fan of ‘less is more’ in the right place, so as I was in 2 minds I decided to keep it simple and then I can add to it at a later date, should I wish to. Much easier than wasting the paper by over embellishing it and not liking it. Hope that makes sense, I know what I mean… lol

Did you also spot the smaller canvas? Well, I have to confess I have lots of earrings and ran out of space….. This isn’t all of them either I’m ashamed to admit :/ Earring canvas 4

Right, before I give away any more of my secrets I am signing off. Thank you, as always, for joining me and I hope it has given you some ideas. Please do leave a comment and/or follow my blog and should you be interested I am also on Facebook, Twitter,  Pinterest and Instagram. You can also reach me via the contact page on here. I look forward to seeing you here again next time and, until then – Happy Crafting!!

Leave a Reply

