Fairy Garden

Hi Folks, welcome back. I hope you are keeping well. I don’t know about you, but we have had every weather under the sun today, except the sunshine that is!! The lawn was white over with hail, it looked as if someone had been going mad with polystyrene balls. Ironically given that spring has supposedly sprung, and for my crafty relaxation therapy yesterday, I crafted a spring inspired fairy garden in pastel colours. I hope you like it. Fairy TL 5I must admit I have been itching to get to grips with these new fairy dies from Tattered Lace, as well as their Summer Pasture die, so this was the perfect opportunity, and my decision to use pastel colours for this meant I could use a favourite paper of mine, I have had for some time, ‘New Bloom‘ from First Edition. They make some gorgeous papers, then again who doesn’t where I’m concerned, the only thing I am more addicted to than die cuts is papers……Anyway, enough waffle!

Fairy Garden: This card is 6×6 inch opened up as an easel card which I have then decorated with the same paper on the top and base section, so the inside, if you picture it shut. I have then used a number of die cuts in various colours and styles to build up a garden in bloom, inhabited with delightfully dainty fairies, butterflies etc.

Fairy TL

In order to develop each layer I started with a set of flower nesting dies and cut 3 out in thick gold card, which I then fitted, descending in size, using clear acetate and matching gold card, as the supports. I was keen to bring out the colours of the backing papers, so chose card in the corresponding pastel colours for the die cuts, choosing purple for the Fairies.

Fairy TL 4

Once I had positioned the fairy on each flower I then built up the layers with flora and fauna, also Tattered Lace, well I have a weakness, they have the most intricate of designs and some amazing offers on at the moment. Next I added some butterfly and dragonfly embellishments to bring the whole thing together, before finally finishing with, my old favourite, liquid pearls, a sentiment &heart air balloon die cut and a layered flower with pearlised embellishment, which brought out the pearlised detail in the backing paper, as well as complimenting the other elements.

So, what do you think? Please do feel free to leave a comment and, should you be interested, I would love for you to follow me, after all my blog is for sharing.

What did I use?

  • Creative Expressions (Sue Wilson) – ‘Believe’ die;
  • Tattered Lace dies: Panorama Grass (Small, Medium and Large), Fairy Trixie, Fairy Minx, Blossom Fairy Charisma, Trio of Butterflies, Ava Flower and Mini butterfly dies;
  • Apple Blossom: Heart Balloon die;
  • Joanna Sheen: Butterflies and Dragonfly,plus Build a Flower Signature dies
  • First Edition (New Bloom): Background paper;
  • Ranger Liquid pearls: Petal Pink, Lavender Lace, White Opal;
  • My old stash: Card for die cuts;
  • Elaine’s Perfect Petals: Yellow flower.

Well, that’s it from me for now folks, thank you, as always, for joining me. Keep warm and stay safe and in the meantime, if you have any questions or queries, please feel free to contact me via the contact sheet on here or Facebook, TwitterPinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting!!

Leave a Reply

