Crafty Crafter’s Creative Crafting Blog

Anything but Tatty…

Hi Folks, thank you for joining me on my new blog. It’s such a shame to have lost all the previous blogs we shared from my old website, but hopefully we will build up a good collection on here for fun and sharing 🙂

My plan is to share my crafting with you, as well as competitions, kits and offers. And, as previously, should you fancy doing a guest blog, just ask, this blog is all about crafting fun and sharing.

So, for my first blog I wanted to share a recent Anniversary make using, with the exception of the sentiment, Tattered Lace dies old and new, the sentiment being a Creative Expressions die. I hope you like it 🙂 xx

Special DayAs with all my creations I never know what I am going to make when I sit down, for me crafting is my relaxation therapy, so I just pick a paper, have an idea of dies etc I want to use and see how it develops. Others much prefer to have a plan first, nothing wrong with that, it’s just a personal preference, plus my way is easier to cover up when things don’t work out…lol

On your special day card: Once I chose the paper and the style of card I want to make, in this case an easel card, I stuck the backing paper down and then concentrated on the top section. First of all though, I want to show you how easy an easel card is to do. There are several options, and I am keen to show these to you, as I was terrified to try anything like this for ages thinking it was way to complex for me.

Below are 2 different illustrations. Both start out the same – a piece of card folded in half to make a ‘normal’ card, for want of a better word, or you could just use a pre-made card. I used an 8×8 inch card for these and simply scored a line down the front half way, so 4 inches if my sums are right. and then folded along the scored line. This is where you have a couple of choices.

Choice 1: The first pic shows the card being folded back on itself along the score line and this will stand on it’s own, so you can add whatever you plan to use to the easel slant knowing it will hold, as long as you don’t go to heavy with your decor.

Choice 2: The second pic shows the alternative, the card being folded forward on itself along the score line and this will NOT easily stand on it’s own, so it will need a stopper, something to wedge the easel section, in this case the sentiment.  This is the style I chose for this card.

To make this card I used:

  • Creative Expressions (Phil Martin) – From the heart Collection ‘On your special day’ die;
  • Tattered Lace dies: Open Book, Cherub, Exquisite Bow, Charisma Rose Corner, Floral Flourish Edge, Charisma Climbing Rose, Ava Flower, Charisma Garden Rose, Trio of Butterflies, Mini Butterflies, Bows & Birds;
  • Tilda Range: Background paper;
  • Ranger Liquid pearls: Petal Pink, Lavender Lace, White Opal;
  • My old stash: vellum & card for die cuts;
  • Elaine’s Perfect Petals: Purple roses.

Special Day 2

I always seem to do the stopper section last, again just personal preference. I had some lovely scripted vellum, which was perfect for this card, so I cut the largest oval with this, using a plain white card for backing, to give the vellum some rigidity. Next I added a smaller oval of the main paper, using foam tape to give some depth, then added the cherub die cut.

I cut the sentiment in a contrasting pink with the idea of sticking it to the oval, but I didn’t feel there was enough contrast between the colours and the sentiment was lost, so I cut another oval, attached the sentiment to this and then stuck this down, just on the edges, manipulating the card so it curved to give more dimension to the card.Special Day 6

Next I added the various rose dies around the sentiment before switching my attention to the base of the card. I knew I wanted to somehow use the book die, a real favourite of mine being a book lover, so having some of the script vellum left over was absolutely perfect. I attached the book on a slant, making this the stopper for the top section and then embellished it with the swag.Special Day 5

To finish off this section I added the gorgeous bow die, cut both in purple and pink, to add some definition to it and then I finished this off with a paper rose, at the same time embellishing the top section with a different bow, paper roses and butterfly die cuts, dressed with liquid pearls, another favourite of mine, in crafting and in jewellery!

I had planned to leave it there, but something just didn’t feel right about the bottom section in front of the book, it needed lifting somehow and then ‘Eureka’, a rose die sweeping over it, just made it look complete. What do you think?

Well, that’s it from me for this time folks, thank you for joining me and I hope you will come back again soon. In the meantime, if you have any questions or queries, please feel free to contact me via the contact sheet on here or Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or Instagram and until next time – Happy Crafting!!

 

2 thoughts on “Crafty Crafter’s Creative Crafting Blog

Leave a Reply

